MEMOCODE 2020 will be held as a virtual conference in light of the current COVID-19 situation

Call for Papers

MEMOCODE brings together researchers and practitioners interested in formal methods for system design and development, to exchange ideas, research results and lessons learned. The conference focuses on the foundations and applications of formal methods in the development of hardware, firmware, middleware, and application software for systems, ranging from single embedded devices to highly networked cyber-physical systems and the Internet of Things.

Topics of Interest

MEMOCODE 2020 solicits research papers on formal methods in system design that address the foundations, engineering methods, tools, or experimental case studies. Research areas of interest include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • Modeling Languages, Methods, and Tools Programming languages and models; software and system modeling languages; architecture and high-level hardware description languages; timing models; model and program synthesis methods; model transformation methods.
  • Formal Methods and Tools Correct-by-construction methods; contract-based design and verification; static, dynamic, and type theoretic analysis; verification; validation; probabilistic model checking; test generation; refinement-based and compositional approaches to design and verification
  • Models and Methods for Developing Critical Systems Fault-tolerant systems; security-critical and safety-critical systems; cyber-physical systems; hybrid systems; autonomous systems; self-adapting systems; systems that merge humans, artificial intelligence, and cyber-physical systems; societal-scale cyber-physical systems, such as connected vehicles and smart grids
  • Quantitative/Qualitative Reasoning Power/performance/cost/latency estimation methods; system models for quantitative design space exploration
  • Formal Methods/Models in PracticeDesign case studies; empirical case studies


  • Abstract submission deadline: July 3, 2020 July 17, 2020 July 31, 2020
  • Paper submission deadline: July 10, 2020 July 24, 2020 August 07, 2020
  • Notification of acceptance: September 4, 2020 September 25, 2020
  • Final version of papers: October 2, 2020
  • Conference:December 2-4, 2020 (Tentative)


MEMOCODE 2020 calls for three kinds of submissions: regular papers, tool papers and work in progress papers. All papers must be written in English and formatted according to the IEEE Computer Society guidelines, including the IEEE Copyright templates. Submission of papers is handled via Easychair.

  • Regular papers are no longer than 10 pages, excluding bibliography and appendices. They should describe original work that does not overlap with another publication or a submission under review or accepted for publication by any other conference or journal. Reviewers will check regular papers for the soundness and novelty of the proposed solutions.
  • Tool papers are no longer than 8 pages, excluding bibliography and appendices. They should describe an existing and publicly available tool that implements relevant methods. The methods might have been published before, but the tool should not have been described in a tool paper previously. In addition to reviewing the paper, reviewers will assess the tool itself using inputs and a user's manual provided by the authors on the tool's web page.
  • Work-in-progress (WIP) papers are no longer than 4 pages, excluding bibliography and appendices. They should describe ongoing work. Reviewers will judge the novelty of the idea, but do not yet expect proofs for the envisioned results.

For questions regarding technical submissions, feel free to contact one of the Program Committee co-chairs: Pierluigi Nuzzo and Indranil Saha. All accepted papers (regular paper, WIP papers, and tool papers) will be published as IEEE conference proceedings with IEEE eXpress. Publication in the proceedings is contingent on one author registering for and presenting the paper at the conference. Selected papers will be invited for publication in a special issue of ACM Transactions on Embedded Computing Systems. The Program Committee will also select 1-2 papers for the Best Paper Award.

Contact persons:

  • Pierluigi Nuzzo (nuzzo [AT] usc [dot] edu) and
  • Indranil Saha (isaha [AT] cse [dot] iitk [dot] ac [dot] in)

Program Committee

  • Robert de Simone, INRIA
  • Stephen A. Edwards, Columbia University
  • Marc Geilen, Eindhoven University of Technology
  • Elizabeth Leonard, Naval Research Laboratory
  • Katell Morin-Allory, TIMA Laboratory
  • Pavithra Prabhakar, Kansas State University
  • Paolo Zuliani, Newcastle University
  • Roberto Passerone, University of Trento
  • Bican Xia, Peking University
  • Xuandong Li, Nanjing University
  • Ji Wang, National Laboratory for Parallel and Distributed Processing
  • Sandeep Shukla, Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur (IIT Kanpur)
  • Mamoun Filali-Amine, IRIT
  • Shuvra Bhattacharyya, University of Maryland
  • Martin Fränzle, Carl von Ossietzky Universität Oldenburg
  • Sudipta Chattopadhyay, Singapore University of Technology and Design
  • Gregor Goessler, INRIA
  • Rick Kuhn, Natl Institute of Standards & Technology
  • Luciano Lavagno, Politecnico di Torino
  • Doron Peled, Bar Ilan University
  • Jürgen Teich, University of Erlangen-Nuremberg
  • Marjan Sirjani, Malardalen University, Reykjavik University
  • Stavros Tripakis, Northeastern University
  • Ufuk Topcu, Uni of Texas at Austin
  • Lu Feng, University of Virginia
  • Avinash Malik, The University of Auckland
  • Matthew Kuo, Auckland University of Technology
  • Patricia Derler, Kontrol
  • Soonho Kong, Toyota Research Institute
  • Klaus Schneider, University of Kaiserslautern
  • Srinivas Pinisetty, University of Gothenburg
  • Thao Dang, CNRS/VERIMAG
  • Ankush Desai, Amazon
  • Tiziano Villa, Universita' di Verona
  • Yishai A. Feldman, IBM Research - Haifa
  • Goran Frehse, ENSTA Paris
  • Stefan Mitsch, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Constance Heitmeyer, Naval Research Laboratory, Washington DC 20375
  • Nikos Arechiga
  • Sebastian Fischmeister