## MoM of the Ph.D. (HSS) Selection Process, Shortlisting Criteria

#### 2023 HSS, IIT Jammu

## Eligibility Criteria

The Senate of IIT Jammu has approved the minimum eligibility criteria for the PhD applicants as follows:

Interested scholars should have a Master's degree (with at least 55%, marks ) in English/Culture Studies, Philosophy, Sociology/Social Sciences, Economics, Education, Communications, Psychology and Cognitive Science etc or related domains., within the broad areas of Humanities and Social Sciences.

They should also be UGC/NET qualified.

Candidates from the Science/Tech/Engg background should have an MA equivalent Degree

(M.Tech/M.Sc/M.CompSc. etc) and a valid GATE/NET score.

#### Discipline-wise CGPA cut-off

#### Social Science/ Sociology/ Education:

- Specialization in Social Sciences / Education
- Not less than 6.5 for GEN (and as per GoI Regulations for OBC/SC/ST/PWD/EWS candidates)/ JRF Qualified
- Research interest in Education / Higher Education or allied field
- Candidate(s) should be externally funded (e.g. JRF, GATE etc.).
- Maximum Intake Capacity: 1

Number of Candidates applied ( category wise)	IITJMU/Acad/2023/142
	General: 9
	SC: 3
	ST: 1
	Pwd: 2
	EWS: 1
	OBC: 5
Number of candidates shortlisted for first round	4

Details of the shortlisted application:

# Social Science/ Sociology/ Education from Advt. IITJMU/Acad/2023/142

S.N	Name	Application No.	Status	Remarks
1	Sumaira	2023/Phd/Hu/1001 60	Shortlisted	JRF Qualified
2	Kriti Issar	2023/Phd/Hu/1001 86	Shortlisted	JRF Qualified
3	Bishal Nath	2023/Phd/Hu/1003 06	Shortlisted	JRF Qualified
4	Swarti Rani	2023/Phd/Hu/1001 82	Shortlisted	External Scholarship (By UGC)

5	Bushan Kumar	2023/Phd/Hu/1001 42	Not Shortlisted	Not JRF Qualified
6	Harsimrat Kour	2023/Phd/Hu/1002 59	Not Shortlisted	Not JRF Qualified
7	Nistha Kumari Singh	2023/Phd/Hu/1004 33	Not Shortlisted	Not JRF Qualified
8	Ankush Kumar	2023/Phd/Hu/1004 36	Not Shortlisted	Low Cgpa In Masters Level
9	Manoti Srivastava	2023/Phd/Hu/1005 07	Not Shortlisted	Not JRF Qualified
10	Bismi Nizar	2023/Phd/Hu/1005 28	Not Shortlisted	P.G. Not In Social Sc./ Education
11	Ridham Gupta	2023/PhD/HU/1003 00	Not Shortlisted	P.G. Not In Social Sc./ Education
12	Aaleya Amin	2023/Phd/Hu/1000 30	Not Shortlisted	P.G. Not In Social Sc./ Education
13	Ankit Nishad	2023/Phd/Hu/1000 64	Not Shortlisted	P.G. Not In Social Sc./ Education
14	Jitender Soni	2023/Phd/Hu/1001 24	Not Shortlisted	P.G. Not In Social Sc./ Education

15	Sameer Ahmad Sofi	2023/Phd/Hu/1001 40	Not Shortlisted	Not JRF Qualified
16	Deep Chand Yadav	2023/Phd/Hu/1003 05	Not Shortlisted	P.G. Not In Social Sc./ Education
17	Rafia Shabir	2023/Phd/Hu/1003 24	Not Shortlisted	P.G. Not In Social Sc./ Education
18	Astha	2023/Phd/Hu/1004 03	Not Shortlisted	P.G. Not In Social Sc./ Education
19	Ali Murtaza	2023/Phd/Hu/1004 26	Not Shortlisted	P.G. Not In Social Sc./ Education
20	Muzamil Hussain	2023/Phd/Hu/1004 57	Not Shortlisted	P.G. Not In Social Sc./ Education
21	Swarup Pal	2023/Phd/Hu/1004 87	Not Shortlisted	Research Interest Not In Higher Education/ Education As Expressed In The Application.

### Signature of all the committee members

Bhaslendystineorg

Dr. Bhaskar Jyoti Neog (Chairperson, DPGC)

Dr. Joby Varghese (H.O.D. HSS)

) small

Prof. Bijoy H. Boruah (DPGC, Member) DPGC)

Amatash Ofha

Dr. Amitash Ojha (Member DPGC) DPGC)

Run L

Prof. Uma Shankar (External Member,

Sayatan Mendel

Dr. Sayantan Mandal (Member